PDA

View Full Version : Limiting # of planes per born place



MadAce
13-11-2006, 12:29
Hi,

I've noticed on some of your missions that there are sometimes born places that are limited to a specific # of planes that can spawn from there, any one above that number receives a message to wait for confirmation on selecting the home base, where at the same time if I select a different home base which isn't limited I will have no problem pressing fly and joining the game.

I was wondering if anyone could explain to me how to implement this feature in the mission or ini files?

Thanks
Mad Ace

Scrappy_D
13-11-2006, 12:59
I'm sure one of these threads will explain it, excellent map making tutorials:

http://www.battle-fields.com/commscentre/showthread.php?t=6860

http://www.battle-fields.com/commscentre/showthread.php?t=10093

Hope those helped.

NS-IceFire
14-11-2006, 00:26
Hi,

I've noticed on some of your missions that there are sometimes born places that are limited to a specific # of planes that can spawn from there, any one above that number receives a message to wait for confirmation on selecting the home base, where at the same time if I select a different home base which isn't limited I will have no problem pressing fly and joining the game.

I was wondering if anyone could explain to me how to implement this feature in the mission or ini files?

Thanks
Mad Ace
As explained...and I'll just reiterate to be clear. The number of spaces that can be spawned at on a given airfield is hard coded into the maps. So there are some bases that can only handle 12 people and then the base is full. Hardcoded in and not something we can control in any meaningful fashion.

We can however, through the use of .INI files and Server Commander, limit the numbers of certain types of aircraft or armament configurations. This is a great tool when employed properly. The description of how the .INI works is here:

http://www.battle-fields.com/commscentre/showthread.php?t=10093

It takes a bit of doing but you can get comfortable with it over time. I will point out that unless the server you're running this on is using Server Commander this will not make one bit of difference.

MadAce
14-11-2006, 06:54
Thank you all for the info, this helps me a lot.

P.S. Is there a list of these hard coded limitation anywhere to be found?

NS-IceFire
14-11-2006, 22:51
Thank you all for the info, this helps me a lot.

P.S. Is there a list of these hard coded limitation anywhere to be found?
Not unless you want to go and test with about 25 people every single air base in the game? :)

Well its not that bad but for every unique style of airbase there are a few different variations. Its just too much to count and not worth the effort.