PDA

View Full Version : Map rotation



Yellow 2
07-05-2009, 20:48
I know that there have been problems with UKD2 that have caused a lot of work and now that it appears to be running much more smoothly I don't want to cause either more work or upset the delicate balance of the server but would it be possible to have a random rotation of maps?

I tend to join at about the same time each evening and the same maps have been running at this time each day. Did we not have some form of random map selection built in at one time or am I barking up the wrong tree? :)

Algorex
07-05-2009, 20:54
We had a lot more maps running so the cycle was off beat, now it's approximately 26 and a half hour cycle, which means you'll end up with little variation between consecutive nights.

Fergi
07-05-2009, 20:55
I tend to join at about the same time each evening and the same maps have been running at this time each day.

Exactly...

Algorex
07-05-2009, 21:01
One easy solution would be to move some maps from ukded1 to ukded2 like:
Shibushi
Ploesti
Bodenplatte
Palau
Kotka

Five maps would give an addition 7 and a half hours to the cycle.

Bone Head
07-05-2009, 21:36
Hi guys, we have been having this discussion elsewhere. Obviously admins can change the map at will, there isnt an option (that I know of) to load random maps. We have considered adding some UK1 maps but they will need altering and it is getting the help to do that.

We are trying to sort something out. I could go fiddle with it now and maybe alter the current map rotation, not sure if it would need a reboot though to make it effective. Tell you what, I'll alter the cycle and you let me know if anything changed, if it doesnt I am around tomorrow to restart it, but I am away for the weekend with work.

hyenaman
07-05-2009, 21:45
Hey Bone..
I volunteer my services for the altering...
just let me know whats to be altered etc and i will do the work for you ..
~s~

SMURFY1967
07-05-2009, 23:17
I`ll do it Bone , i`ll copy all the maps over from UK3, and alter the file to say UK2 just to please the anal amongst us. Then a UK2 regular admin can stick whatever they like in the mapcycle. Uk3 has 50 maps i`m sure there`s something for everyone in there. Tomorrow i`ll do it.

Yellow 2
08-05-2009, 10:43
Thanks for looking at this. If it is going to cause problems with the server I'm sure all the players would be happy to stick to what we have got but if it is fairly simple to change then it's much appreciated. :)

Fergi
08-05-2009, 19:40
Shibushi
Ploesti
Bodenplatte
Palau
Kotka

Ardennes and Rome to please!

SMURFY1967
08-05-2009, 20:01
I`m on it, hold on sonny.

Bone Head
08-05-2009, 20:28
LOL Smurf, maybe if you get it done really quick Fergi will join the supporters ;)

Fergi
08-05-2009, 20:30
Fergi will join the supporters ;)

I didn't say it :p.

I'm 14 guys and I don't know how to play with those PayPal things. I don't have many cash, too (but a few pounds for UKD is no problem for me ;)).

SMURFY1967
08-05-2009, 20:50
Tis done, i`ve used all the UK1 FBDj maps and edited the props files to read UK2.

Yellow 2
09-05-2009, 10:02
Thanks Smurfy. I joined last night at about my usual time and found a new map running hooray! :D

Bone Head
11-05-2009, 08:56
Thanks smurf, I think we all owe you a beer!

hyenaman
11-05-2009, 09:44
how about Mojito instead...I can make good one...
well next time ure in India the Mojitos on me :P

Bone Head
11-05-2009, 10:16
Sounds interesting, whats in it ?

hyenaman
11-05-2009, 17:07
Sounds interesting, whats in it ?
didn't wanna hijack the thread ...so send u a PM.:p
-Cheers

Bone Head
12-05-2009, 18:26
Got it and when Im not working will be trying it LOL THanks

Fergi
20-05-2009, 21:12
Well, I think that there's too much UKD1 maps on UKD2... If there's too many maps on both server, they lost their peculiarity, they'll became too similar.

I noticed that Belgrade map is always played circa 21:00 Greenwich time, too.

Honorguy
20-05-2009, 22:54
only 1 thing does UK2 needs a B17 map :) we are planning something

System-M-
20-05-2009, 23:27
There used to be Dortmund which was a fantastic B-17 boming map. We need to get the old UK2 reotation back onto the server. We just need the Missions converting.

Algorex
12-07-2009, 12:06
The Greece map, could we chuck it from the cycle, it halves the player amount everytime.

Fergi
12-07-2009, 12:07
Noooo...

MD_Titus
01-08-2009, 01:28
swap out the greece map for the iraq bi-plane on bi-plane map. chasing a stuka in a glad is both futile and ultimately suicide, and the greece map seems to be too different in the planes. the fiat and stuka are basically too fast for the p.11 and j8a. chasing a u2vs in a glad is about even. shooting a glad in a glad is just hilarious.

SMURFY1967
04-08-2009, 14:23
I`ve looked for the Iraq map Titus , found the bugger, edited the FBDj and added it to the list, can be admin called and is in the cycle.

hyenaman
04-08-2009, 18:45
sweeeeeeeeeettt!!
thanks Smurf ...I love that map too :)

Algorex
10-08-2009, 09:54
Iraq is back! Played it yesterday on a full server, 10 plane twisting turnfights, loving it. Thank you.

Boemher
10-08-2009, 12:24
i have noticed there seems to be a few back to back Russian maps with similar planesets, how come you arent online when Im on Algore :D ?

MD_Titus
10-08-2009, 21:36
I`ve looked for the Iraq map Titus , found the bugger, edited the FBDj and added it to the list, can be admin called and is in the cycle.

Huzzah!
jolly good show

Kang
21-08-2009, 23:30
Something today just reminded me that the map 'Palembang' is rather susceptible to an error that the map won't end despite one side having destroyed all targets. I suspect it has to do with a smoke object or such being left marked as target when blue sinks all of red's ships or something like that.

ImpailerNL
16-09-2009, 18:21
Hello people,

Id like to ask why iraq is still in the map rotation.
Since most people disconnect when that map is getting loaded, i dont see the use of it. And your restricted to only one aircraft, because most dont use mods for the other airplanes. Most just dont like the huge diffrence in airplane performance, compared to the other aircraft in il2.

Sonko
17-09-2009, 12:05
It is still there because I sort my real life issues prior to online gaming issues.
The UKD2 mission cycle is still WIP and it will take some time to make it how it was before the change to FBDj.